What is the National Curriculum for excellence?

Everyone has heard about the new national curriculum for excellence, but how does it relate to what we all did at school. The following should help.

Year Level Course
S1 -2 National 1 > Access 1
S1 -2 National 2 > Access 2
S3 National 3 > Access 3 and Standard Grade Foundation Level
S4 National 4 > Standard Grade General Level and Intermediate 1
S4 National 5 > Standard Grade Credit Level and Intermediate 2
S5 Higher > New Higher
S6 Advanced Higher > New Advanced Higher


What is the Curriculum for Excellence?

The four capacities

The purpose of the curriculum is encapsulated in the four capacities – to enable each child or young person to be a successful learner, a confident individual, a responsible citizen and an effective contributor.

The curriculum aims to ensure that all children and young people in Scotland develop the knowledge, skills and attributes they will need if they are to flourish in life, learning and work, now and in the future. The attributes and capabilities of the four capacities are outlined below:

parent council

The curriculum has been developed across all levels of education to provide a coherent plan for all of Scotland’s children, focusing on the knowledge and skills required for life.

For more information check out this link: http://www.educationscotland.gov.uk/learningandteaching/thecurriculum/whatiscurriculumforexcellence/

Skip to toolbar